BAR AMALFI. OUT TO LUNCH OR AM I CRAZY

light lunch

Monday and it’s back to work. What’s for lunch? I realise it’s a bit late but I still feel hungry. I never know what I want for lunch and always make a spontaneous choice when I’m at the serving counter.

There are so many questions. White? brown? Wholemeal? Butter? Margarine? Salt? Pepper? And the questions go on and on, and that’s before the main ingredients are mentioned. I usually find it’s easier to give in and agree with the person making the sandwich. They seem to know what a person who looks like me wants for lunch.

Today it was a snack which exhibits no airs, haughtiness, or showiness. To say it was modest is an understatement. At Bar Amalfi today I had the most relaxed and unassuming of meals, a toasted wholemeal, buttered salted and peppered cheese, tomato and avocado melt.  My choice involved both social as well as economic factors. The social factor was that I didn’t want to share it with my friend so it had to be filling but not excessive in size, and economic because I’ve decided I’m going to live on a budget so $5 was the limit.

The luncheon was precisely what I wanted and it sustained my mind and spirit: I always laugh when I say I’m “out to lunch” because it probably means I’m not in touch with the real world; and if I think I can still afford to buy lunch in today’s economic climate then I might even be crazy.

3 thoughts on “BAR AMALFI. OUT TO LUNCH OR AM I CRAZY

  1. So many scenic pleasures to pause and comment on, yet here I am, looking at food!

    Just never quite thought of this combination, quite this way. But soon enough I’ll do more than think about this appealing image here.

    My thanks of course, for this, and everything here.

Leave a Reply

