A BIRD IN THE BUSH

 

Rainbow Lorikeet

This little guy is called a Rainbow Lorikeet  He has every colour of feather you can imagine. The head is dark blue and you can just see, as he is eating, his bright red bill.

A yellow-green collar gives way to a deep violet belly with orange underwing. This one was foraging for pollen and nectar in the bush next to the cafe where I was having my morning coffee. He was screeching and chattering away even when he was eating.

He seemed so carefree for a while I wished I was a bird but then I’d have to give up all my cat friends. Life is full of compromises.

Leave a Reply

