IT’S LIKE WE’VE NEVER BEEN APART

From the moment I began my journey my heart was already open to the city. So when I arrived at the Town Hall Station it was like you feel with an old friend. I just picked up where I left off and as I took my first steps I could feel the memories come up through the footpath. 

My aim was to walk the few kilometres from the Town Hall to the concourse of the Sydney Opera House where I will have a few beers, dinner and soak up the spectacular views of Sydney Harbour and the sparkling city lights. 

As I set off on my walk I discovered that my rekindled love affair was taking on a life of its own. I was photographing everything in sight. For me nothing had changed it was more like the continuation of a love that had been rudely interrupted. 

Sure the buildings are taller, newer, and shinier but  my original 50 years old attachment to the city is enduring and will never leave my mind. It will be there forever and ever. 

I’m lost for words but I took plenty of pics so I hope you enjoy my night out with the city. Sorry if it takes a while to load down.

 60 first work place

I worked in this building when I had my first job. It’s a distinctive building of terracotta and pink granite façade built back in the late 1920’s. The interior is a work of art with large columns, masses of marble, and an exquisite plaster and pressed metal ceiling. In its day the building’s banking chamber was one of the largest in the world.

 47 reflection

A reflection of the Sydney Tower which stands 305m (1,001ft) above the city.

58

Reflection of the MLC Centre built in 1977 is late 20th century international style constructed of reinforced concrete and is 228 m or 748 ft with 60 floors.

 65 flowers

 On of the many flower stalls in the city.

 78

 I’ve walked so far I’m getting hungry.

79

  The friday night traffic begins to head out of the city

 84

 The sun is setting as I get my first glimpse of the Sydney Harbour Bridge

 96

 The Sydney Harbour Bridge opened in March 1932 and is up there with San Francisco’s Golden Gate Bridge, New York’s Statue of Liberty, London’s Tower Bridge and the Eiffel Tower in Paris.

 According to the Guinness World Records it is the world’s widest long-span bridge and the tallest steel arch bridge, measuring 134 metres (429.6 ft) from top to water level. It is also the 5th longest spanning arch bridge in the world.

100

Circular Quay is located on the northern edge of the city. It has walkways, pedestrian malls, parks and restaurants and is the setting for the ferry wharfs and Circular Quay train station. It’s also known as Sydney Cove and that’s the site of the initial landing of the First Fleet. Now days it’s the focal point for New Year’s Eve fireworks displays and other city celebrations.

104

110

113

Surrounded by the stunning sights of Circular Quay I can hear gentle laughter and the chinking of glasses against a backdrop of comfortable conversation.

The Sydney Opera House is known all around the world. Its design is a series of large precast concrete shells which form the roofs and they sit on a huge monumental podium.

It is a very modern expression of design. For the record: The roofs  are covered in a subtle chevron pattern with 1,056,006 glossy white and matte cream coloured tiles.

 119

I had a fantastic night which ended with  friends and dinner at the Eastbank Café-Bar-Pizzeria where we had a front row seat to the world’s most beautiful harbour.

For my entrée I ordered assorted olives and feta marinated in olive oil and served with focaccia sticks and for my main meal Gourmet Pizza Gamberi which had tiger prawns, sundried tomato, mozzarella and basil pesto.

5 thoughts on “IT’S LIKE WE’VE NEVER BEEN APART

  1. Oh Sean! This is fantastic! Thanks for the lovely tour! I felt as though I was walking along side you enjoying all the sights! Great Photos!
    Thanks hun!

Leave a Reply

