SMOOTH SAILING

 sail boat 5

I think I’d be great at sailing. There was a sailing regatta on the Bay over the weekend so I went down to the water’s edge to see what was going on. As you can see there was plenty of action.

I used to sail around these waters when I was a kid and had many adventures including one where the 1st mate jumped overboard and swam ashore (hi Patrick).  I’m sure this proves I’m a good captain because I stayed with the boat.

I’m feeling like the first man who realized that he could escape by holding up a cloth and catching the wind. I want to get going. I don’t need a crew. I’ll just go by myself and with a glass of wine I’ll be in happiness. I think I want to be a sailor.

Life around the Bay is pretty easy and uncomplicated and as Mark Twain said: “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

6 thoughts on “SMOOTH SAILING

    • Nadezhda,
      It’s a beautiful dream to have……the regatta was for young people…..so I guess I’ll have to find some other opportunity to go sailing

  1. Perfect timing! You have no idea what your posting means to me today….Trying to make up my mind about a few possible adventures! This makes the decision easy!
    See! Blogging does matter! Thanks my freind!
    Love and Hugs!

    • Hi Vicki,
      I’m glad you’re back from the paint shop. I think we live near the same ocean, the Pacific.

      Sailing is definitely a great adventure ……. sometimes you get very wet and sometimes your lunch revisits you…..neither is much fun.

      You’re right sailloging is fun.

      Sea you soon

Leave a Reply

