CROSS SPECIES ENCOUNTER WITH THE KINGDOM OF ANIMALIA

suicide crab

Today I saved the lives of nearly 2000 baby crab eggs. It perhaps represents a generation of bay-side crabs. 

This poor little mother crab got pulled up on my hook this morning whilst I was at “work’ down by the bay. You can see all the eggs on the underside of her belly. 

She began to communicate with me by drumming and waving her legs and pincers, ten in all. However when I tried to pat her I noticed a characteristic of crabs is that they tend to be aggressive, very aggressive. They are true to the fourth sign.

They are hard to communicate with so off camera we had a little difficultly in understanding one another.  I wanted to get her off the hook she wanted to bite off my fingers. 

After I reminded her I was only trying to save the children things improved and eventually, as with all women, I began to understand her complex behaviour patterns. 

She clearly wanted me to give her the flick and so that’s what I did. She and the children now live about 100 metres offshore. 

You might say I’m a hard shell but, like the crab, I too am soft on the inside.

6 thoughts on “CROSS SPECIES ENCOUNTER WITH THE KINGDOM OF ANIMALIA

Leave a Reply

