MOON RISE TO THE LEFT OF ME, SUNSET TO THE RIGHT, HERE I AM, STUCK IN THE MIDDLE FISHING

 MOON RISE TO THE LEFT OF ME

Well I know why I came  here tonight,

I got the need to catch fish that will fight,

Moon rise to the left of me,

Sunset to the right, here I am,

Stuck in the middle fishing,

SUNSET TO THE RIGHT OF ME

I’m so excited thinking I’ll catch something big,

On this eight foot long six pound rig,

Mosquitoes to the left of me,

Sand flies to the right, here I am,

Stuck in the middle fishing,

 

Yes, fishing and I’ve just caught a small bream,

And I’m wondering if I put it back will it swim,

It’s so hard to get the hook from its mouth,

Losing control, I think this guy is surely heading south,

People to the left of me,

Fish Inspectors to the right, here I am,

Stuck in the middle fishing,

 HERE I AM STUCK IN THE MIDDLE FISHING

 

Well I started out with just my bait,

And now it’s about half past eight,

And I’ve caught three bream on the line,

It’s cool ’cause I’ve thrown ’em back every time,

Please…. Please…..

 

 

Trying to make some sense of it all,

But fishing makes no sense at all,

And I don’t think that I can take anymore,

Moon rise to the left of me,

Sunset to the right, here I am,

Stuck in the middle fishing.

 

Thanks go to the Steve Miller Band

9 thoughts on “MOON RISE TO THE LEFT OF ME, SUNSET TO THE RIGHT, HERE I AM, STUCK IN THE MIDDLE FISHING

  1. Yea, I’m fond of Steve Miller too, and that’s a clever bit you did to change it to an old shanty fisherman’s song! Wonderful pictures too (of course)!

    And that I suppose is a bream? Just a tad smaller than the freshwater blue-gills we used to catch in the damns round about – all bones and spines, little flesh to eat. What we got instead of the bass or trout we were hoping for. (kind of why I stopped long ago)

    Salt-water was always the dream. Aren’t ocean fish supposed to always be big? Guess you proved that assumption false! 🙂

    But real fishermen (not me) are ever hopeful I suspect that tomorrow, tomorrow yes, will find that big one on the line! Good luck fishing!

  2. Wish I could have shared that with you!! I could smell the air , feel the sand between my toes and hear the waves! You’re making me miss my ocean side up bringing!
    You have a blessed life my dear friend! Thank you for sharing!

  3. Sunset to the right- lovely image! We were laden with snow here in NYC…an evening spent fishing seems so unreal:)

    Happy New Year to you and wish you the best of times ahead!

    • yes daisyfae……it’s horrible to get an earworm…especially when it gets….stuck in the middle…….of your brain

Leave a Reply

