HEADING WEST – PART NINE – THE FATHER OF MY FATHER

When back in Sydney I rang my daughter and discussed my discovery of the surname and we decided to do a Google search. During the search I stumbled across a site described as “From a distant Field”

From a Distant Field, the Early Generations on the Internet

BARBE Catherine Victoria (see WILLIAM BARBE)  BARBE Francis Stanley (see WILLIAM BARBE)  BARBE William (EDWARD FRANCOIS and MARY JANE)

Initially I thought the site had something to do with World War One and the distant fields were a reference to the battle fields in France where many Australians lost their lives. I was interested so I entered the site and to my surprise I discovered it was genealogical site containing many with the surname of Barbe: including one named Reuben Barbe.

I was gobsmacked especially when I found Reuben Barbe came from Grudgery exactly the same place my Grandmother Lexie Fraser came from. I immediately realised that Lexie had named my father after his father. My search had ended. My father had passed away 30 years earlier and this chance discovery of two head stones in the Forbes Cemetery had uncovered a past that had not been in the open for eighty years.

REUBEN BARBE about 1915

REUBEN BARBE FRASER about 1942

The line of descendants to my father’s father looks like this:

ELIZABETH (SARAH) MITCHELL (1/02)
born about 1770 in England
married 20/2/1805 at PARRAMATTA to
EDWARD FIELD
died 24/6/1837 at CASTLEREAGH “aged 67”
children: (by JAMES WILSON)
SARAH,

SARAH MITCHELL (1/87) (see footnote)
born 19/5/1792 at PARRAMATTA
married 24/6/1807 at PARRAMATTA to
JAMES MORRIS
died 9/8/1876 at MT YORK aged 84
parents: JAMES WILSON and
ELIZABETH (SARAH) MITCHELL
children: ELIZABETH, PHOEBE, SOPHIA, JAMES, THOMAS, WILLIAM, ANNE, JANE, JOAN, JOHN, WILLIAM JOSEPH, CLARA, GRANT, GEORGE, EDWARD

ANNE MORRIS (1/95)
born 29/12/1821 at PENRITH
married 17/9/1838 at CASTLEREAGH to
WILLIAM HENRY PEACOCK
died 15/5/1853 aged 31
parents:
JAMES MORRIS and SARAH MORRIS (nee MITCHELL)

MARY JANE PEACOCK (3/95.3)
born 1/12/1844 at HARTLEY
married 1863 at FORBES to JOHN BEATSON
partnered to EDWARD FRANCOIS BARBE
died 30/10/1905 at BOGABAGIL aged 60
parents:
WILLIAM HENRY PEACOCK and ANNE PEACOCK (nee MORRIS)

The family of MARY JANE BEATSON and EDWARD FRANCOIS BARBE

WILLIAM BARBE (4/95.3/4)
born 30/10/1873 at GRUDGERY
married 21/7/1896 at FORBES to CATHERINE VICTORIA STANLEY
died 10/10/1941 at FORBES aged 67
parents: EDWARD FRANCOIS BARBE and
MARY JANE BEATSON (nee PEACOCK) 

The family of WILLIAM BARBE and CATHERINE VICTORIA BARBE

REUBEN WILLIAM BARBE (5/95.3/4.1)
born 1896 at FORBES
married 1921 to ETHEL E PEASLEY
parents:
WILLIAM BARBE and CATHERINE VICTORIA BARBE

External Third Party evidence

* Reuben used the names , Reuben , William, Billy,  Reuben James

*Mrs Ellen Fraser also known as Helen Fraser

One thought on “HEADING WEST – PART NINE – THE FATHER OF MY FATHER

Leave a Reply

