DUNLOP VOLLEY LOOKS FOR A BETTER WORLD

A RESTING PAIR OF DV INTERNATIONALS

Here I am, feet raised at a 45-degree angle, enjoying some passive relaxation.

I’ve been on a 5km morning walk and am now showing my Dunlop Volleys the respect they deserve. After all they did carry the 26 bones, 33 joints, 107 ligaments and 19 muscles that make up my foot over the 5,000 footsteps that took me along the Gold Cost beach front.

Ever since primitive man scrambled over the rocks to the water’s edge, he realized he needed something to protect his feet and it’s no different with me.  I’ve been wearing this canvas and rubber soled walking shoes for more than 50 years and they do me just fine.

I’ve made my way to the Gold Coast Arts Centre to catch a movie called ‘A better World’ staring Mikael Persbrandt and Trine Dyrholm who look a little like Bjorn and Anni from ABBA.

Essentially the movie is about Anton, a doctor, who commutes between his home in an idyllic town in Denmark, and his work at an African refugee camp. In these  two very different worlds, he and his family are faced with conflicts that lead them to difficult choices between revenge and forgiveness.

 Their sons are involved in bullying problems at school and this is complicated by the fact that the parents are getting a divorce. In the end it is the parents who help the boys cope with this rough passage in their lives.

Despite trying to be real the actors didn’t behave like real people so for me it was not totally convincing.  The thing about switching between Denmark and a refugee camp in Africa then to a bully in a schoolyard was a bit off-putting. Anyway I was there for the outing and the company which I enjoyed immensely.

4 thoughts on “DUNLOP VOLLEY LOOKS FOR A BETTER WORLD

  1. Now THAT’s a good picture my friend! Feet in elevated repose, just as they should be. And no-socks I notice too. Likewise as an long ago friend of mine, this one from the other far oceanside, Cape Cod to be specific that way – no socks, I mean. And me, guess I’m just that bit more formal, less relaxed, because I always wear socks, tennis shoes or not. Suppose I’m more visitor to the sea than resident! And such glorious fuss about shoes and socks, indeed!

    He was also a fisherman, as too are you I might add. Always bring him a napkin if he begins to talk about the sea and what you might eat from it!

    Glad your 26 bones, 33 joints, 107 ligaments and 19 muscles are doing well, and can hear it like blue sky in your voice. Sounds good even from this far. (Maybe I should as well – go walk for a while. Movement is good they say.) Thanks for the morning brightness! (I needed that!)

    • Hi Neil,
      I totally understand your issue with the no socks…………… I’m that way with those bike riding middle aged men in lycra who don’t wear underpants….Im afraid that’s not for me

Leave a Reply

