THERE ARE SOME NEW KIDS IN TOWN AND THEY’RE MY DUNLOP VOLLEY SS

It was just like Christmas. I woke up excited knowing my new DunlopVolley SS shoes would be waiting for me at my PO Box. I was hardly out of the Post Office before they were on my feet. I was six inches taller and seemed to glide along the footpath.

When they got to work they were straight onto Facebook contacting their friends, the white and black Internationals, making plans to get together. They may even watch a bit of tennis as Wimbledon is on this week and that will bring back a few memories for the Dunlop SS guys.

Those International boys have just returned from a trip to Europe, the South of France and the Italian Riviera to be precise, and the three pairs all look forward to catching up with one another at the pub for a beer or five over the weekend. I’d like to be a fly on the floor there, as there will be plenty of sole slapping and lace knotting after they’ve had a few drinks.

Stuff you might want to know. My beautiful new Volleys are finished in premium leather. They are part of the SS range which was so influential upon its 1965 release that it was worn by 90% of the players at Wimbledon.

As you would imagine I’m expecting my tennis to improve but my sanity is unlikely to change. You see being a shoe means you mostly travel in pairs, just like nuns, so you never feel alone.

2 thoughts on “THERE ARE SOME NEW KIDS IN TOWN AND THEY’RE MY DUNLOP VOLLEY SS

    • Hi Mark, it’s almost a year since I got the SS and they’re still as good as new. Although I don’t wear them as much as the whites the souls are really in good condition whereas the heal of the whites wear down quickly. The only issue I have with them is that the tongue is a bit sloppy.

Leave a Reply

