HOW TO SURVIVE IN YOUR APARTMENT IF YOU WORK AT HOME

Today lunch was not bread alone. I left through the farm-house (lounge room) door and walked through the back paddock to the north (across my balcony) and picked vibrant green leaves from my spring lettuce crop.

I have beaten the insects before they have their fill and I’m about to make my lunch: a salad sandwich. But it’s not just lunch, it’s a matter of survival.

Lettuce first cultivated by the ancient Egyptians is a good source of vitamin A and potassium. Once a weed it is now a plant grown for its leaves and destined to adorn salads and sandwiches.

Having originated in America, the tomato is consumed in many ways, including raw, and that’s how I’ll have it today; sliced and raw, atop of my apartment grown lettuce.

The tomato belongs to the nightshade family, I don’t know why and I don’t know what it means, anyway I call my tomato Dudley, and I’m eager to eat him.

On my store-bought grain bread I spread that famous dark brown Australian food paste made from yeast extract known as Vegemite, then the lettuce, then the tomato, with a little sprinkling of salt. The perfect Egyptian, American and Australian sandwich is made.

I might be poor but I’ve made it through another day of apartment living, cultivating my food on the deck and making home lunch.

3 thoughts on “HOW TO SURVIVE IN YOUR APARTMENT IF YOU WORK AT HOME

  1. The best foods are sometimes the ones you grow in your home. Great job planting such wonderful lettuce and tomato crops. Nobody’s too poor to enjoy great food especially ones that are grown in his own backyard. However, the wine does make a good addition (I would have to agree).

Leave a Reply

