AMERICA’S CUP 1983. AN UPDATE TO SMOOTH SAILING 2013 – AMERICA WINS

SMOOTH SAILING UPDATE

 I was thinking of what Mark Twain said: “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

So I looked back twenty years to see what I had done and remembered my childhood as a sailor who conquered the Bay during the early 1960’s. Later on in 1983 the dream was still alive and along with a friend I invented and published The America’s Cup Game. I googled the game and found it on a site known as ‘boardgamegeek’

 Anyone else interested in the dream of sailing come on board and let the winds catch your soul and head off under the silky sky.

THE AMERICA’S CUP GAME 

box top

30 YEARS AGO

In New York in 1983 the America’s Cup was won by Australia. This was the first successful challenge to the New York Yacht Club’s 132-year defence of the trophy. The Australian win ended the longest winning streak in sporting  history.

 Meanwhile in Australia in 1983, two mates, Paul Rea and Sean Fraser inspired by the performance of the Australian challenge designed and produced a board game known as ‘The America’s Cup Game’

The small boats in 1983 boats and dice

We created over 60,000 multi-colored cardboard yachts. I got my inspiration for the design of the yachts from my days as a young sailor around Botany Bay. Both Paul and I were keen sailors.

It is now 2013 and just last week I visited a regatta at the Bay and captured the small yachts as they are today. The inspiration of 30 years ago still lives on.

The small boats  boats in real life

 

The playing board . the board

 

What the press had to say .spike and moon are the boys

12 thoughts on “AMERICA’S CUP 1983. AN UPDATE TO SMOOTH SAILING 2013 – AMERICA WINS

    • Hi Pamela
      Yes I had done the post on smooth sailing and was looking through stuff in my office when the memory of the time I did the game came flooding back. I decided to Google …and there it was I’m famous….ha-ha……..unfortunately famous after my time rather than in my time.

  1. Sean, That is sooooooooo very cool. I think you are famous! Inventing that game is bigger than what most “stars” today ever do. I love entrepreneurs. You have my respect. Follow the dreams.
    Vicki’s dad and my dad were business partners (yes we go way back) with a group of guys that started a little business called, Taco Bell. I wonder if they should have followed that dream a little further???!!!

  2. Seems a guy calling himself Bill Chillcote came from the border of Mexico and California with just a corn grinder and a tortilla machine and started it in Australia. Excuse the pun…but does that name ring a Bell………

Leave a Reply

